Mentors for Startup Weekend Brussels: impressive collection of exceptional individuals

by

In the past few weeks over 30 exceptional web entrepreneurs, business angels, developers, bloggers and more have stepped forward to support the spirit of entrepreneurship in Belgium.  We are immensely thankful to them for their wholehearted support, and the least we can do is mention them all here – and share their details at http://brussels.startupweekend.org/mentors/.

There are young-and-ambitious entrepreneurs like Bruno Delepierre @delepierre of AdForce and Filip Tack @ftack of http://www.nomadesk.com/, Antoine Perdaens @tlg of Knowledge Plaza and Thomas Bonte @thomasbonte of MuseScore.  Thomas Vande Casteele @thomasvdc manages the rising star of Belgian ecommerce, and Loïc Bar @loicbar specializes in green IT; Frederik Denkens @fdenkens has built a hosting company and is now developing a co-working space in Antwerp.

There are grizzly veterans of many a startup battle: Ben Caudron @bencaudron, founder of The Reference, Koen De Witte of LeadFabric, Patrick Bosteels @patrickbosteels of TCS Digital World and Sebastien Doyen of TeaTower.

There are business angels – Cedric Donck @cedricdonck and VCs Wouter Bogaert.

There are marketing specialists like David Hachez @theafter (also an entrepreneur – his company RazWar won the first Bizz Starters Award in 2010) and Francois Lamotte @francoisL.  There will be a financier – Xavier Corman @xaviercorman and even an HR professional (and of course entrepreneur) – Sidsel Graae.

And then theere are star developers.  Bart De Waele @netlash and Kris Buytaert @krisbuytaert (Linux).  Laurent Mikolajczak @jackmiko (also co-founder at http://www.vendredichic.com/), Jef Waumans @jaav (Java, obviously) and David Damen @dafmetal.

And of course a user experience architect to throw a spanner in the works: Jerome Cordiez @lovely_djay.

Bloggers are definitely out in force: Robin Wauters @robinwauters of Techcrunch, Mateusz Kukulka @mateusz and Fréd Ooms @fredooms.  Academia will be present as well – Marc Goldchstein (professor at VUB and of course entrepreneur), supported by coaches Pejman Dashti @pejman and Vali Lalioti @valilalioti (executive coach and yep, entrepreneur too).

Special thanks to two of the mentors who will travel from afar: Maria Encinar @encinar is an online marketer and fellow Startup Weekend organizer in Galicia and Marek Rusiecki is an incubator manager and VC from Poland.

And our very, very special thanks go Ben Piquard @benpiquard of Microsoft Innovation Center, the man behind Boostcamp.  Ben supported Startup Weekend Brussels from the very start – without his advice and encouragement it would not have been possible!

Ben will be available throughout the weekend as Mentor to give advice on business models and running software business and to share his formidable network.

We are very much looking forward seeing all of the mentors on January 28 – 30, and we hope you will join us and benefit from their massive knowledge, great advice and extensive networks.

#swbru  team

Post to Twitter